It’s Been A While!

Posted: July 26, 2010 in Uncategorized

I am back after a few days of taking a blog break.  I hadn’t written in a while because of a few reasons:

1. Uploading pictures takes a long time.

2. Out of town guests were here for the weekend.

3. I don’t know if anyone looks at my posts, so I figured nobody would miss me!

But anyway, I’m back, and I am ready to get on track with writing again.  Maybe someone out there give me tips on uploading pics more quickly/efficiently.

Anyway, some highlights from my life, over the past few days…

I got a pedicure (check out Buddles’ toes).  Actually, I take that back.  I did not get pedicure; I just got my toes painted with a french manicure.  I always just get them painted because I don’t like it when people pick on my toes, and because it’s also a lot less expensive.  It was only $9 (instead of $23). 

A party at the family-owned outdoor farmer’s market at my house.  I bought FOUR red peppers for a dollar here, which cut up and froze.  What a deal!  Now I can just throw peppers into my omelettes (or whatever) whenever I want!  Anyway, there was a band at the party, and they had homemade cake with fresh fruit and cream on top, so I splurged.  I could not resist.  And you know what?  I didn’t feel guilty!

Edgefield, with friends.  I wasn’t hungry, so I just had a Diet Coke.

Running around downtown Portland with my boyfriend, his best friend, and his best friend’s dad.  It was so hot this weekend that I felt like I was going to pass out.  We started the day with breakfast at a local place called Cup and Saucer.  I wasn’t impressed.  My veggie/egg white omelette was FULL of oil.  The plate was smothered in it, so I hardly ate any of it.  Instead, I filled up on coffee :-).  We went to the waterfront and checked out the view from the Nines (which is a very fancy hotel), and wrapped up the day by eating dinner at Blue Moon.  Blue Moon is where my boyfriend and I went on our first date, which is why we love this place.  Not to mention, they have a really delicious hummus platter (my usual).

Chris and I wrapped up the weekend’s activities with a little hike in Forest Park.  By the way, I do not like hiking, but when it’s only for about 30 minutes, it’s not so bad.

Oh, I’ve also been eating a lot of almond butter.  I’ve never had almond butter, but I saw it at Costco and thought it looked interesting.  I like that it doesn’t have any ingredients beside “almonds”.  No sugar, no high fructose corn syrup, no crap!  I tablespoon has about 100 calories.  Not too bad, since the stuff is pretty rich–I’ve found that I don’t really need more than a tablespoon.

Off to tackle my Monday “to-do” list and enjoy the day!!!

Leave a Reply

