Work, Shmurk.

Posted: July 21, 2010 in Uncategorized

Guess what.  I love not working.  I know this goes against everything my mother taught me, but I cannot help the way I feel.  I love being able to sleep in if I want.  I like to enjoy my morning coffee while watching the View and checking my email.  It’s nice to be able to take the dog for a walk when I feel like it.  I’m able to keep up with my to-do list, keep my house clean, and catch up with friends who I have lost touch with.  I have no stress, EXCEPT when my mother calls me to find out if I have a job…yet.

I’ve worked my whole life, until now.  I always felt like I was spinning my wheels.  There just were not enough hours in the day.  Everything was rushed.  I felt like I was going through the motions during the work week, and not really enjoying anything about corporate America.  What’s the point of it all, anyway?  Obviously, we all need to work to pay the bills, but what’s the have a job that ruins the quality of your life?  We spend so much time at work that it’s difficult to not let it affect your personal life, especially if you’ve had a bad day at the office.

I’ve never been fully satisfied with any job I’ve had.  I don’t enjoy pushing paperwork, measly cost-of-living pay increases, dealing with difficult personalities, and being forced to sit at a desk until 5:00, even if I’m finished with all of my work.

I suppose I’m still trying to pick my passion.  I wonder if I’ll ever find it.  Until then, I’m enjoying unemployment.  That probably sounds pretty pathetic to a lot of people, but it makes me happy.  And that is what is most important :-).

Leave a Reply

